Life of a Dutchie

It's all about me, what I'm doing, where I'm going, what I'm thinking, what I shouldn't be thinking…

Saying goodbye – part 1

Leave a comment

Saying goodbye has many aspects, depending on the person, the relationship, on how long one is going away and so many other things. In my case the people can be divided roughly into three groups: family, friends and dancers.

Family is a though one to say goodbye to. I already said my goodbye’s to my brother and his family after spending a great day together, and there the mixed feelings started. I won’t be going away forever, I will be back once a year (that’s the plan), but the idea that you can’t see each other anytime you please is strange. My brother is one of my biggest supporters regarding taking the job in Shanghai, he envies me for the food there! My mom, well, that will be more difficult I think, normally we see each other every week. I will be staying with her the last few days before I leave, so I think that helps. And lots of hugs.

Friends are there for you no matter what. They will miss you (and I’ll miss them!), but they’re happy for you and don’t mind a place to visit far away. Thankfully there are many ways to stay in contact (even from China as long as you’re a bit creative) and I’m hoping to welcome some of them at my new place. If you think about it, they’re actually the easiest group to say goodbye to, how strange is that? But I will miss them to pieces. I’m really looking forward to receive a package from them once in a while: a great way to bring parts of them into my new life. Love you guys!

And then there are dancers. Most of them you don’t know that well really. If I’m at a party, I barely talk, I mainly dance. Thanks to Facebook you get to know more about the person behind the dancer, but on the dance floor it’s mainly about music, feeling and connection. This way you can feel really close to people, without actually knowing them. We mainly dance, have some chit chat and hug when we leave. I love that. Not that I’m not interested in getting to know the people, but the feeling you get on the dance floor is priceless! You’re connected on such another level. Thankfully they do dance Salsa and Tango in Shanghai, but I will certainly miss the intensity of Zouk (and the personalities of Zouk dancers). Last night was my last Zouk party for now. It feels strange to let go of something so intense, that has been a huge part of my life for the last two years. I know I will be back and since I’m a teacher I hope to bring my love for Zouk to the people in Shanghai, but it still feels strange. I will miss all the Dutch dancers I had the privilege of dancing with. Feel free to come and visit me! And we will dance!

Leave a Reply: no need to register, just leave your name and your message. That's it!

